Issaquah School Board earns distinction honor

November 5, 2015

By Staff

best online viagra forum viagra

NEW — 2 p.m. Nov. 5, 2015

The Issaquah School Board was one of nine entities labeled a “Board of Distinction” by the Washington State School Directors’ Association Nov. 4.

Issaquah joined school boards from Auburn, Ferndale, Kent, Puyallup, Riverview, South Kitsap, University Place and West Valley (Spokane).

“Each of these boards is a great example of the excellent work of Washington’s 295 school boards and 1,477 school board members,” said Chris Nieuwenhuis, president of the association. “We applaud their commitment to their students and communities.”

The annual “Boards of Distinction” program honors school boards that demonstrate effective use of the state school board standards.

The standards, developed and adopted by WSSDA in 2009, promote research-based governance practices that lead to high levels of student and district achievement, and help close the opportunity gap.

Award applicants submit an essay and supporting evidence to demonstrate how they are putting the standards into practice. The boards will be honored Nov. 20 during the  WSSDA’s annual conference in Bellevue.

Lisa Callan, Brian Deagle, Marnie Maraldo, Anne Moore and Suzanne Weaver serve on the Issaquah School Board.

Bookmark and Share


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.