Gordon Bisset takes lead in contested City Council race

November 8, 2011

By Christina Lords

best online viagra forum viagra

NEW — 8:45 p.m. Nov. 8, 2011

As ballots for the 2012 general election begin to roll in, Gordon Bisset has established a dominant lead over challenger Frank Irigon for the Newcastle City Council’s only contested race this year, according to information provided on the King County elections website.

With about 71 percent or 1,077 votes — of about 28 percent of the ballots counted so far — Bisset leads Irigon for the council’s fourth position. Irigon earned 28 percent of the vote, or 425 votes.

“I’m very pleased with the results,” Bisset said. “I’d like to thank the voters of Newcastle and will be getting ready to carry out my campaign themes.”

Bisset previously served a four-year term on the council from 2002-2005 and has lived in the Hazelwood neighborhood of the city for 41 years.

Irigon has lived in the Rainer Crest neighborhood of Newcastle for 25 years. This is the first time he has run for the position.

Bisset said he’ll continue to attend meetings to stay current on issues, especially when it comes to the city’s 2012 budget discussions.

The winner of the contested race will replace longtime Councilman Sonny Putter, who has continuously served on the council since 1994.

Incumbent councilwomen Lisa Jensen and Carol Simpson and incumbent Deputy Mayor Steve Buri were re-elected for their respective positions after they ran unopposed in the election.

Incumbents scored leads in the initial election results released just after 8 p.m.

Issaquah School Board incumbents Brian Deagle and Suzanne Weaver, as well as Port of Seattle Commission incumbents Bill Bryant and Gael Tarleton, pulled ahead as the off-year election came to a close.

Deagle pulled ahead of challenger Patrick Sansing and Weaver outpaced opponent Brian Neville.

In the only uncontested school board race, voters elected Bellevue resident Anne Moore to succeed outgoing Issaquah School Board member Jan Colbrese.

Bryant trounced challenger Dean Willard, a Sammamish resident, in a Port of Seattle Commission race focused on economic and environmental issues. Tarleton defeated Richard Pope to remain on the commission.

Renton School Board candidate Denise Eider, an account executive for a title company who lives in the West Hill area, was elected for four-year, district No. 4 position. It will be her first term on the school board.

Todd Franceschina and Lynn Desmarais, two uncontested incumbents, retained their seats on the Renton School Board after running unopposed this year.

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , , , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.